Dallas…From October 20-25, the 12th annual ITF Maureen Connolly Cup for Ladies55 & over was held at the Club Ali Bey in Antalya, Turkey.

The United States team of Trish Faulkner, Brenda Carter, Anne Guerrant and Margaret Russo defeated Germany in the finals: 3-0. The competition featured 13 countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States.

The Maureen Connolly Cup was initiated by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and donated by the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation. The first event was held in the U.S. in Tyler, Texas in 1992; Corsica, France (’93); Carmel, California (’94); Le Touquet, France (’95); Eugendorf, Austria (’96); Canberra, Australia (’97); Pompano Beach, Florida (’98); Murcia, Spain (’99), Durban, South Africa (’00); Perth, Australia (’01); and Vienna, Austria (’02).

The ITF Maureen Connolly Cup international team competition is played on a round robin event principle, followed by a knock out formula in the later stages, where applicable, to give a complete ranking of all teams, each match consisting of two singles and one doubles. Each team shall consist of a minimum of two and a maximum of four players, which shall include a playing captain, alternatively, a team of a minimum of three and a maximum of five players, which shall include a non-playing captain. Players must have reached the age of 55 years by
December 31, 2003.

Mrs. Frank A. Jeffett, president of the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation, attended the event and presented gifts to the players.

The Maureen Connolly Cup was named in honor of the late 3-time Wimbledon champion and the first woman to win the Grand Slam in 1953 at only 18 years of age. Maureen is still the youngest Grand Slam champion and only American woman.