Dallas… The United States Tennis Association (USTA) and The Lawn Tennis Association of Great Britain (LTA) have finalized their teams for the 33rd annual Maureen Connolly Challenge Trophy. The event will be held at the prestigious Dallas Country Club in Dallas, Texas from September 27 – 29, 2007.

The Maureen Connolly Challenge Trophy match is an international team competition that features the top five girls from the United States and Great Britain who are 16 & under.

The players will play a total of eleven matches over three days (9 singles and 2 doubles).

The United States team members are: (in alpha order)

Kristie Ahn - Upper Saddle River, New Jersey

Jacqueline Cako – Brier, Washington

Alexandra Cercone - Seminole, Florida

Olivia Janowicz - Palm Bay, Florida

Lilly Kimbell - New Braunfels, Texas

Captain: Kimberly Po-Messerli from Rolling Hills Estates, California. Kim was a former WTA tour player.

"I am looking forward to coaching this group of hard working and enthusiastic girls in the 33rd Maureen Connolly Challenge Trophy match. We are all very excited and honored to represent the United States in this event and anticipate a terrific week of competition in Dallas,” said Kimberly Po-Messerli, USA team captain.

The Great Britain team members are: (in alpha order)

Stephanie Cornish

Hannah James

Tara Moore

Laura Slater

Heather Watson

Captains: Luke Milligan and Iain Bates.

This competition was inaugurated in 1973 by the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation and Mrs. Frank A. Jeffett, twenty years after “Little Mo’s” Grand Slam in 1953 and four years after her death. The first two meetings were in the United States, but since 1975, play has alternated between the two countries. In 1999, the competition was changed from Ladies 21 & under to Ladies 19 & under, and in 2007, the competition was changed to Ladies 16 & under. The United States leads the competition in victories: 20-11. During its thirty-two years, the Maureen Connolly Challenge Trophy has included players like Pam Shriver, Kathy Jordan, Zina Garrison, Amy Frazier and Lisa Raymond for the U.S. and Jo Durie and Sue Barker for Great Britain.

Matches will begin on Thursday morning, September 27 at 10:00 am and four matches will follow. The Opening Ceremony will be held at 5:00 pm before the last match of the day. On Friday, September 28, there will be four matches beginning at 10:00 am and on Saturday, September 29, there will be three matches beginning at 10:00 am. All matches will all be on held on center court.

During the event, the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation will also celebrate their 40th anniversary. The foundation was formed in 1968 by Maureen Connolly Brinker and Mrs. Frank A. Jeffett. Tony Trabert will be attending the festivities and presenting Mrs. Jeffett with the prestigious Golden Achievement Award from the International Tennis Hall of Fame for her exceptional contribution to international tennis, as well as a number of other awards from the international tennis community. Trabert, current president of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, is a former Wimbledon, U.S. and French Championships winner and former #1 in the world in 1955.

“On behalf of the MCB Tennis Foundation, we are extremely pleased with the tremendous response the event is receiving from the international tennis community and the City of Dallas, and we are pleased to have the support from the Dallas/Fort Worth World Affairs Council,” said Elizabeth Jeffett Norman, Event Chairman.

Through encouragement, financial assistance, training and opportunities offered to young players each year, the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation helps meet its goal in promoting the sport of tennis in a manner that has made a fitting tribute to one of the all-time tennis greats – Maureen “Little Mo” Connolly.

For ticket information, call the MCB office (214) 352-7978 or email: cartennis@aol.com

Event Chairman: Elizabeth Jeffett Norman – (214) 673-6516 or email: jeffett10@aol.com