2009 “Little Mo” Texas Sectional Results

The youngest and brightest stars in tennis played in the 32nd annual “Little Mo” Texas Sectionals at the Arlington Tennis Center in Arlington, Texas from February 28 – March 1. Approximately 150 youngsters from all over Texas competed in the popular “Little Mo” event. Josh and Matt Eckel were the Tournament Directors.

The eight quarterfinalists in each age division qualified to play in the “Little Mo” South Regionals at the Arlington Tennis Center from May 23 – 25. In addition to the Texas players, there will be players from three other sections (Intermountain, Missouri Valley, and Northern) competing at the Regionals. The four semifinalists from the Regionals will advance to the prestigious “Little Mo” Nationals at the Austin Tennis Academy in Austin, Texas from October 17 -19. The “Little Mo” Nationals is the only tournament for boys and girls 8, 9, 10, and 11 & under and is the culmination of the year-long “Road to the Little Mo Nationals”.

The winners of the “Little Mo” Texas Sectional were:

Boys 11: Titus Strom – Frisco, Texas
Boys 10: Alex Gee – Bellaire, Texas
Boys 9: Max Motlagh – Richardson, Texas
Boys 8: Ryan Flanagan – Abilene, Texas

Girls 11: Elizabeth Porter – Dallas, Texas
Girls 10: Anna Bright – Fort Worth, Texas
Girls 9: Nicole Conard – Tyler, Texas
Girls 8: Anna Zhang – McKinney, Texas

For full draws, see www.mcbtennis.org.

The “Little Mo” tournaments are sponsored by the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation in memory of its tennis champion namesake, Maureen Connolly, who was known as “Little Mo” – the first woman to win the Grand Slam at only 18 years of age in 1953. The “Little Mo” tournaments are designed to be fun and provide good competition for the younger player at the sectional, regional and national level. The foundation has promoted junior tennis development for the past thirty years and continues to benefit countless numbers of boys and girls throughout the country.

Girls 8: Ela Raczka (Cedar Park) / Anna Zhang (McKinney) winner

Girls 9: Nicole Conard (Tyler) winner / Katelyn Thomas (Granbury)

Boys 8: Joyce Kamdem (Bedford) / Ryan Flanagan (Abilene) winner

Boys 11: Titus Strom (Frisco) winner / Zeb Zhang (Sugar Land)

Girls 11: Caroline Porter (Dallas) winner / Simmons Spielmann (Irving)

Boys 10: Clark Shannon (Frisco) / Alex Gee (Bellaire) winner

Girls 10: Anna Bright (Ft. Worth) winner / Adrienne Vesely (Plano)